My World in Sentences

A sentence, it is said, is a string of words (that satisfy the grammatical rules of a language). A string of words …  the many things, and forms and shapes, I could make with a string. Most importantly, it ended where you wanted it to end; at the point where the creation was complete –  for you.

“Who am I kidding,” I said- there was no one there. “I am not particularly good with string,” I  thought.

I agree, my waiting to become stories are sometimes overly sensationalised, or repetitive, and even, as was clearly spelt out once before, convoluted (am I repeating this?).

In any case, I exhaust a larger chunk of my time musing over the sentences of others. So potent they are, you feel to have been part of the writing process by simply reading them:

I am an omnivorous reader with a strangely retentive memory for trifles.
― Arthur Conan Doyle, The Complete Sherlock Holmes

I go to encounter for the millionth time the reality of experience and to forge in the smithy of my soul the uncreated conscience of my race.
—F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby

Wilbur didn’t want food, he wanted love. ― E.B. White, Charlotte’s Web

All happy families are alike; each unhappy family is unhappy in its own way.
― Leo Tolstoy, Anna Karenina

There are some things that are so unforgivable that they make other things easily forgivable.
― Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Half of a Yellow Sun

There is always something left to love.
― Gabriel García Marquez, One Hundred Years of Solitude

In contradiction to:

Then he made one last effort to search in his heart for the place where his affection had rotted away, and he could not find it.
― Gabriel García Márquez

Nothing gives a fearful man more courage than another’s fear.
― Umberto Eco, Name of the Rose

Human beings are gods hidden from themselves.
― Ben Okri, The Famished Road

It’s the time you spent on your rose that makes your rose so important…People have forgotten this truth, but you mustn’t forget it. You become responsible forever for what you’ve tamed. You’re responsible for your rose. ― Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, The Little Prince

I think prime numbers are like life. They are very logical but you could never work out the rules, even if you spent all your time thinking about them.
__ Mark Haddon, The Curious Incident of a Dog in the Nighttime

… for I had reached a point in my life when I came to view words differently. A closer look at language could reveal the secret of life.
― Ngũgĩ wa Thiong’o, Wizard of the Crow

I could not end without adding this one, that perhaps encapsulates the initial idea:

It is not often that someone comes along who is a true friend and a good writer.
― E.B. White, Charlottes Web

“Who am I kidding! I’m a ‘string of words’ zealot,” I inwardly proclaimed. Particularly the convoluted and sensationally multicoloured type.

Leave a Reply

